Thursday, July 25, 2013

After the ultra sound

As an update to my previous post where I was wondering which type of ultrasound I would have (abdominal or vaginal), I wanted to let you know I was really lucky…it was both!

Actually, I wasn’t lucky at all. I’m not particularly fond of the doctor who did my ultrasound. It took between 30 and 45 minutes for the vaginal ultrasound because she was having a difficult time “visualizing” one of my ovaries, which basically meant I got to lie there with her pressing the ultrasound wand as hard as physically possible against my cervix. I actually cried through some of it because it hurt so badly.

After the ultrasound was over I sat up so she could talk to me, and immediately both she and the tech started panicking. I asked what was wrong and they told me I shouldn’t sit up so quickly after lying down all that time. I asked why and they said because of my high blood pressure. I laughed it off and let them know that I don’t have high blood pressure, I just have white coat, so I get panic attacks when I first get to the doctor’s office, but usually calm down a bit during the appointment. They both gave me an uncertain look but didn’t say anything else.

Next, we were going through what she saw on the ultrasound.

Wow, I guess I should have started with this. GREAT NEWS! They didn’t find anything wrong! No tumors, fibroids, or polyps. Everything looked great, except that my endometrial lining was VERY thick, but she said that I would probably just have an extremely heave period and it would be fine.

Then we got to chatting about how hubby and I have been having a hard time getting pregnant because I’ve always had such crazy irregular periods, and she informed me that it could be because of my diabetes. “What diabetes?” I asked. “You mean you don’t have diabetes?” she questioned with a confused look on her face. “Uh, no. I don’t.” Not that she asked or anything.

At this point I was starting to feel a little uneasy. I had just been accused of having high blood pressure and diabetes, all without any kind of medical basis.

She went on to tell me that if I would just lose 5-10% of my body weight I would start ovulating regularly again and have no problem getting pregnant. You know, completely ignoring the fact that I had just told her that I had had irregular periods (meaning 6-8 per year with no indication of when they were coming) since I started having periods 10 years ago. So, I don’t really know how she expected me to “go back” to having regular periods when I’ve never had them. This is also considering that when first started menstruating at age 15 I weighed about 160-170lbs. I stayed this weight until college (where I hit the freshman 50+ and the grad school 50…but that really isn’t relevant) and still had irregular periods the entire time. So maybe my weight isn’t helping the situation, but my irregular periods are most certainly not caused by my weight, something she wouldn’t even consider.

As the discussion went on, she informed me that I should probably see a fertility specialist, who would probably put me on clomid (or metformin if they found out that I just have undiagnosed diabetes [yes, she said that]). Then she said some other stuff that I didn’t really listen to because at that point I was done with her.

I couldn’t even be excited by my awesome news because I was so upset by her assumptions that just because I’m a big girl, I must have a host of medical problems.

Let me tell you something, I had a glucose tolerance test 3 years ago because I was having dizzy spells and my doctor thought I was HYPOglycemic, not hyperglycemic. But guess what? Everything was fine. Then, when my doctor ran all of my blood work at my first appointment (you know, like two weeks ago) she ran my glucose, too, just to check. And guess what? IT WAS FINE, TOO! I also keep track of my blood pressure at night with a home machine because I understand that I have white coat and my blood pressure is unusually high when I go to appointments. Do you know what my BP is when I’m at home hanging out and not at the doctor having anxiety attacks? Usually around 105/65. Pretty sure that’s about perfect.

I’m so angry at this woman for her assumptions because she is an ultrasound doctor. She is not my primary care physician, nor is she my gynecologist. She is simply there to take some pictures of my uterus and ovaries and tell me if they look okay.

Grrr. I’m not a happy camper.

But on the plus side…nothing wrong with my lady parts!

No comments:

Post a Comment