Okay. So cycle one was a bust. I called my doc’s office Monday morning and let them know I wouldn’t be coming in Tuesday for my lab appointment because Aunt Flo had already arrived and I knew there was no bean. So, they scheduled me for Thursday to come in and start cycle 2. Which was fine…except that Monday at 1:30, the office called and said they had a cancellation and they would really like to get me in that day. I said sure, what time? 2:30…
So, after flying back to the mainland and making it to the office at 2:34 (oops) I got to meet with my doc, who seemed very sincere in his condolences over my failed cycle (he ended my appointment by saying that it was nice to see me again, even though he’d rather he didn’t have to see me because I was off pregnant…but barring that it was nice to see me again, lol).
We did an ultrasound and had a chat. He said he saw some good things, like no cysts/follicles left behind. He even said starting my period was a good thing because it meant I had ovulated and had responded to both the clomid and the hCG. However, as I said before, he was a little disappointed that I only had 1 follicle mature, even after being on 150mg of clomid. So, what he wanted to do was move me up to 200mg and see if I could get a response and have multiple follicles mature (last cycle he said he was hoping for 2 or 3). Although, he said there was a possibility that he would stair step me up to 250mg if he needed to.
Joy.
As miserable as I was taking the 150mg, I can’t imagine what kind of wonderful is in store for me at 200mg. However, I am most certainly not afraid to try. So, today is Wednesday (cd4) and I get to start my massive dose of clomid tonight. Then, ultrasound on Tuesday to see how things are progressing.
I’m a little nervous that I will have too much of a response and that I’ll have too many follicles mature for it to be safe to try this cycle. But I guess that’s a risk I have to take? This whole medicine tweaking thing kind of blows.
I’m not as excited about this cycle as I was about last cycle. I guess that is to be expected, though. I told my husband that this cycle I want him to back off of all the “just stay positive” crap. It’s not me. I’m cynical and I keep my expectations low to keep from getting hurt. It’s just my way. Staying positive didn’t really do anything last cycle except stress me out that I wasn’t being positive enough for everyone else. Frankly, I don’t particularly care if my husband and my mom think I need to keep a good attitude. Being positive doesn’t make an egg mature. It doesn’t help an egg get fertilized. It most certainly won’t help a fertilized egg stick in my uterus. All it does is set me up for disappointment when the cycle fails.
Maybe that’s the wrong attitude to have, but I don’t really care. I’m not a positive princess. I’m cynical sally.
For now I’m going to take one day at a time, focus on what I need to be doing, and let myself feel whatever it is I am feeling without judgment. If I feel hopeful, then I’m going to be hopeful. If I’m feeling defeated, I’m going to throw myself a pity party and camp out in my bedroom with a book.
Maybe I’m being a little too dramatic. Oh well. I’ll suck it up.
And I’ll probably be keeping my fingers crossed anyway. A friend, colleague and mentor of my once said I always seem to have a unique blend of sarcasm, cynicism and timid hope in my approach to life. I think it probably applies to my approach to fertility as well.
So I guess that’s all I’ve got to hold on to – sarcasm, cynicism, a tiny ribbon of hope. Maybe it will be enough to get me through.
I don’t know if anyone out there even reads this damn blog, but I have to ask (just in case). Anyone know of any success stories at 200mg of clomid with PCOS?