Apparently there was some miscommunication between my nurse and I, and *I* was supposed to call them and schedule a follow up, not the other way around (in other words, they forgot about me, lmao). I went in Monday to look at all of my results and make a plan. I found out that my husband's SA came out well -- good counts and all that jazz. Now we are just waiting for my period to start so we can start our first round of Clomid.
There are only 2 problems with that (neither are major). The first is, as I have discussed, that I have really irregular cycles. Even though my LMP was August 30, I still haven't started. My doctor said to give it a little while, and if I miss 3, he'll put me on some medicine to make me have a period. So, that kind of sucks because it means we might be waiting until as late as December or January to start clomid.
The other problem is that we have reached the end of insurance-covered medical care. My doctor told me that my insurance plan covers all testing and fact-finding related visits, but once we make and plan and move forward with the medical side of TTC, then we're on our own. My next visit is going to cost me $500 out of pocket. Which I know is NOTHING compared to what it will cost if we have to go to IVF, but I still have a bit of sticker shock.
My Dr. told me and hubs that we only have about a 20% chance of conceiving with Clomid, and that if we go through 4 rounds without conceiving, he would recommend we try IVF. *deep sigh* I don't think I'll ever not be nervous about all of this. The waiting, the back and forth, the fear. It weighs on me pretty heavily sometimes. I know that, for us, this is what it is going to take to get pregnant which makes it easier. But some days the weight of our reality hits me hard. I know anyone else out there who is going through all of this understands -- some days are just harder than others.
So, dead readers, wish me luck that my AF comes soon so we can start our clomid. 3 years TTC is a long time.